Maybe Young Readers will enjoy it more

Legacy Legacy by Cayla Kluver

My rating: 2 of 5 stars
I had high hopes for this book when I started reading it. The author is still in her teens and I’d heard good things about the book. It started out okay, but didn’t seem to maintain it’s momentum. The protagonist, a princess who will soon have to marry so her new husband can be crowned the king of her realm, was not a very deep character. I’m sure the author was trying to make a statement about women being as capable to rule as men are, and tries to show the princess trying to change the system. But in the end she fails to thwart the rules, and seems to give in to the powers that be. Maybe subsequent books will change the story, but I didn’t find myself wishing I had the next book in the series so I could find out.

This seems like an okay first effort, hopefully the author will develop her skills and write a truly amazing story. She’s young and has time to learn her craft.

View all my reviews >>

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment