Who knew Mark Twain wrote about Joan of Arc?

Personal Recollections of Joan of Arc  Personal Recollections of Joan of Arc by Mark Twain

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
I’ve heard stories about Joan of Arc, usually in European history classes. But I never knew the real story, and all the politics involved. This book, presented as a novel, gives life to the people involved and the political climate of the times. Mark Twain’s reflections on the judges that try Joan of Arc are witty and sarcastic, but in a subtle way. But they do lighten up a very emotional, riveting tale.

The tale is told from the point of view of a childhood friend of Joan’s. As her scribe, he goes with her through all her adventures, right up to her trials. His personal point of view about Joan puts you there with her as she meets with nobility, royalty and church officials.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical fiction, stories of women with strong characters (Joan of Arc is the original female heroine to me) and stories about battle strategy and wars. As for me, I plan to read other books by Mark Twain that are not necessarily based on great rivers in America.

View all my reviews >>

8 Comments

Filed under Books

Leave a comment